We believe Australia boasts exceptional cardiovascular and stroke researchers whose accomplishments deserve acknowledgement and celebration. We’ve introduced the ACvA Excellence in Cardiovascular Research Awards with the intent of achieving just that.

The Awards, divided into three distinct categories, hold a nationwide scope, embracing researchers across all stages of their careers and spanning the entire spectrum of cardiovascular and stroke research.

We want to honour you, your colleagues and peers and recognise the world-class research that is taking place in Australia, so please get nominating.


Nominations for the 2023 are NOW OPEN. Find out more about each Award below and download the nomination form.


Eligibility Criteria and Conditions

  • The ACvA Excellence in Cardiovascular Research Awards are open to all researchers in the sector. You DO NOT have to be an ACvA member to apply.
  • By submitting the application, the nominee agrees to the use of any of the following for promotional purposes: profile picture, bio details, quotes from all sections of the application.
  • The nominee agrees to participate in promotional activities related to the ACvA Excellence in Cardiovascular Research Awards should they be required.
  • Check each Award for Award-specific conditions

Nomination Process and Timeline

  1. Nominations for the ACvA Excellence in Cardiovascular Research Awards open 28 August 2023.
  2. To submit an application, please click on the link for the appropriate Award to download the application form. A Word document will be downloaded for you to complete.
  3. Complete the nomination form, noting Award-specific eligibility criteria, and submit your application to acva@ozheart.org.
  4. Nominations close Friday 27 October 2023.
  5. Finalists will be notified via email late 2023 and formally announced at the Awards ceremony taking place in Melbourne in late February 2024.

Before you apply, make sure you read our FAQs.


ACvA Game Changer Award

This award is for a research scientist or a team of researchers whose discovery or idea in the field of cardiovascular disease and stroke over the past 24 months has the potential to significantly influence current thoughts and practices within the field.

Early-mid career researchers (15 years < post-PhD) are strongly encouraged to apply.

Download the application form HERE.


ACvA Mentor Award 

This award recognises the individuals who have made significant and sustained contributions to the career development of emerging leaders and to the profession through outstanding mentoring.

This award is based on the experiences and success of the nominee’s mentees, not the mentor’s personal career achievements. For the purpose of this award, mentoring is defined as the process of guiding, supporting and promoting the training and career development of others. Self nominations are NOT accepted.

Download the application form HERE.


ACvA Translation Award 

This award is for a research scientist or a team of researchers who have transformed a research idea or observation from the lab bench to interventions that improve the health of individuals and the community.

A clear journey from concept to implementation or along the translational pathway needs to be demonstrated for this award.

Download the application form HERE.