Established in 2015, the ACvA aims to increase the visibility of cardiovascular disease as a National Health Priority Area in the Australian community and in government. 

Specifically, the ACvA:

  • Acts as advocate for increased peer-reviewed funding in heart, stroke and vascular disease research.
  • Represents cardiovascular researchers calling for more research into heart, stroke and vascular disease.
  • Promotes the development of strong collaborative networks between cardiovascular researchers Australia-wide.


The ACvA brings together the nation’s leading researchers:

The Board of Directors comprises key cardiovascular research leaders from around Australia. The current Directors are:

Professor Gemma Figtree, President, New South Wales

Professor Stephen Nicholls, Treasurer, Melbourne

Professor Kerry-Anne Rye, New South Wales

Professor Jason Kovacic, New South Wales

Associate Professor Christina Bursill, South Australia

Professor Karlheinz Peter, Victoria

Professor David Kaye, Victoria

Professor Christopher Reid, Victoria

Doctor Chloe Flutter, New South Wales


See below link to read the Constitution:

2016 ACvA constitution